Life Think #84: Global Warming

June 6, 2011

I am no climate change crusader, but I do try my best to limit my personal emissions (despite what my friends say about my flatulence lol) and I am also constantly encouraging people to get abortions (they’re the Tazos of the 2010s imho).

That said, I get it. I understand that everything we do, except possibly sleeping, is going to have a negative impact on the environment. That’s why people with chronic fatigue are the unsung heroes of climate change (“unsung” because they are too lazy probably). While I entirely support the cause, I do think campaigners should seriously reconsider the use of this banner:

It looks like they are demanding acquiescence to a happy cartoon Hitler. Perhaps I’m missing the subtext?

Little power point Hitler,
Hungry for some power.
Short fuse during a Blitzkrieg
And had a two-minute shower.
What.

Sorry, I have Poetourette’s Syndrome (it’s rare). So when I stumbled across this item on the Sydney Morning Herald website this morning I almost choked on my incredulity (the skeptic’s cornflakes):

Let me get this straight. You are encouraging your readers to sit on their personal computers, which spit a kilogram of carbon into the atmosphere every 16 hours, and LITERALLY WATCH A LIVE STREAM OF MELTING ICE?

I mean honestly: what the fuck? It’s a self-contained metaphor for human illogicality. It’s completely obscene, positively ghastly. Their unmitigated gall is…wait a second. What’s this little morsel?

A four and a half minute video about how Clover Moore feels naked without her choker? Well…that…that just sounds intriguing…if you’ll excuse me, I’m sure the planet won’t mind taking this one for the team.

Leave a Reply

